Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit
We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.
Something missing or not quite correct?Add ImageorSuggest an Edit
Something missing?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit
Something missing?Add Console
Building was designed by Philadelphia architect William Strickland, the church was built in 1828 and demolished in 1885.
From an article by Eugene McCracken, The Tracker, Vol. 3, No. 4, July 1959:
"During the year 1840, with the help of William Farley and a Mr. Jones, he built his first organ, containing four or five ranks of pipes. It was placed in Mr. Furnace's church (Unitarian) at 8th and Locust Streets [sic: the church was located at 10th and Locust Sts, designed by William Strickland and built in 1828], and probably replaced or augmented the Corrie organ of 1831. This organ must have been a success, for later, during the 1850's, he built another organ for this church, whose only available description is that it was the "most magnificent in the United States." "
Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit