Joseph W. Smith
1951

Millbury Federated Church

20 Main Street
Millbury, MA, US

Instrument ID: 69710 ● Builder ID: 5837 ● Location ID: 60260
⬆️ These are database IDs that may change. Don't use as academic reference.EXPLORE IMAGES

Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit

Plenum Organ Company

🤝 Instrument entries in Massachusetts sponsored by:

We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.

IMAGES

Category:
Only show images in a specific category ☝️

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ImageorSuggest an Edit

STOPLISTS

No stoplist details are available. If you have stoplists, please consider sharing them with us.

Something missing?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit

CONSOLES

No console details are available. If you have information, please consider sharing it with us.

Something missing?Add Console

DETAILS

Switch between notes, documents, audio, and blowers ☝️
This instrument is: Extant and Playable in this location

Stephen St. Denis on April 17th, 2023:

The present Greek Revival building was built in 1828 as the First Presbyterian Society Meeting House. In 1834 the parish became known as the Second Congregational Church of Millbury. The First Congregational Church of Millbury is in the Bramanville section of the town. In 1919 the Second Congregational Church merged with the Methodist Episcopal Church of Millbury under this roof to form the Millbury Federated Church.
About the organ; Information from “Centennial History of the Town of Millbury Massachusetts” copyright, 1915 by the Town of Millbury Massachusetts. Davis Press Worcester, Mass.
History of the Second Congregational Church Page 316-317 “After being reduced in musical instruments to one flute, played by Col. Asa Waters, during the winter of 1843 – 44 Mr. Charles Sibley purchased an organ from the Union Church in Worcester, secretly transported to Millbury on Friday night and installed on Saturday, so that it stood with bold front facing a surprised congregation on Sunday morning. There was opposition to the innovation, but it remained in place to the enrichment of the service of worship. …” In 1884, the building was thoroughly renovated. The organ, which had done service for forty years was removed and the present fine instrument was Installed.”

It is likely that in 1951 Joseph W. Smith rebuilt the organ installed during the 1884 renovations. The builder of the original instrument is not known.

Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit

Pipe Organ Database

A project of the Organ Historical Society