Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit
We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.
Something missing or not quite correct?Add ImageorSuggest an Edit
Something missing?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit
Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit
This was the electrification of the existing 1871 Wm. A. Johnson organ with reconfiguring as a 3-manual instrument on new windchests in chambers across the front. According to the church website on the organ history page, "In 1931, a "new" organ was built by the Marr and Colton firm of Warsaw, NY. However, it was not completely new, as the majority of it's pipework came from the 1871 instrument. The tracker (mechanical) action was replaced by electro-pneumatic action chests, and a new console was provided. The entire structure of the organ was changed by the removal of the 1871 casework and the installation of the pipework in three chambers across the front of the sanctuary. This 1931 rebuild resulted in an instrument with three rather weak divisions, Great, Swell and Choir, all of which were under expression."
Identified through on-line information from Richard Johnson. -- The original two manual tracker mechanism and case were removed in 1931. The pipework was transferred to electro-pneumatic chests by Marr and Colton, and a three manual horseshoe console was supplied.
Webpage Links: HISTORICAL PHOTOS OF OUR SANCTUARY
Related Instrument Entries: Wm. A. Johnson (Opus 345, 1871) , David Peckham (1983)
Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit