Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit
We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.
Something missing?Add Image
Something missing?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit
Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit
Updated through online information from Robert Weigel. -- Originally the property of Second Reformed Church, New Brunswick, New Jersey. Originally a tubular action single-manual Odell in 1865, it was rebuilt and enlarged as a two-manual tracker action instrument by Hilborne Roosevelt in 1884 to coincide with its move to the present-day church building. When the Second Reformed decided to have a new, larger electric action organ built, the Roosevelt was acquired by the Shrine Church of Our Lady of Solace. More than thirty years of neglect, water damage and a large amount of disuse rendered it totally unplayable in 2001. Finally, after an aborted attempt to try to raise funds to have it rebuilt, and with accumulating structural damage to the floor under the platform on which the organ was installed, it was finally removed and discarded on August 29, 2012
The original builder was J. H. & C. S. Odell (1865, Opus29).
Status Note: There 1969.
From 2nd Reformed (sometimes listed 1st Reformed) New Brunswick, NJ. Compass 58/27. 1925 building.
Webpage Links: The Two Organs
Related Instrument Entries: J. H. & C. S. Odell & Co. (Opus 29, 1865)
Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit