Hall & Labagh
1866

First Presbyterian Church (1852)

320 Main Street
Paterson, NJ, US

1,008 Pipes
Instrument ID: 58505 ● Builder ID: 2585 ● Location ID: 51032
⬆️ These are database IDs that may change. Don't use as academic reference.EXPLORE IMAGES

Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit

IMAGES

Category:
Only show images in a specific category ☝️

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ImageorSuggest an Edit

STOPLISTS

No stoplist details are available. If you have stoplists, please consider sharing them with us.

Something missing?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit

CONSOLES

Selected Item:
View additional console entries if they exist ☝️

Builder: Unknown
Position: Unknown
Design: Unknown
Pedalboard Type: Unknown
Features:

Stop Layout: Unknown
Expression Type: Unknown
Combination Action: Unknown
Control System: Unknown or N/A

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit

DETAILS

Switch between notes, documents, audio, and blowers ☝️
This instrument is: Not Extant and Not Playable in this location

Paul R. Marchesano on June 10th, 2025:

As reported in "The Paterson Morning Call" (December 8, 1886) the builder was Hall & Labagh, and the instrument contained 1,008 pipes.

Information received online from Andrew Henderson on 2025-06-10


Database Manager on June 17th, 2016:

"Mr. Charles Atherton had charge of the music from 1862 until his death in 1870 [sic; incorrect]. He raised the funds for the new organ which was installed in 1866. This organ was moved from the gallery and placed in the arch back of the pulpit when the church was repaired in 1894. In 1907 it was replaced by the present instrument. The old organ now sounds the Te Deum in the Holy Communion Protestant Episcopal Church on Park avenue.� --History of the First Presbyterian Church of Paterson, New Jersey (Paterson: The Church, 1913), pp. 18-19.

Related Instrument Entries: Unknown Builder (1907)

Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit

Pipe Organ Database

A project of the Organ Historical Society