Wm. Johnson & Son
Opus 612, 1883

Presbyterian Church [1849-52]

Portville, NY, US

Instrument ID: 56218 ● Builder ID: 3181 ● Location ID: 49109
⬆️ These are database IDs that may change. Don't use as academic reference.EXPLORE IMAGES

Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit

Plenum Organ Company

🤝 Instrument entries in New York sponsored by:

We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.

IMAGES

Category:
Only show images in a specific category ☝️

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ImageorSuggest an Edit

STOPLISTS

No stoplist details are available. If you have stoplists, please consider sharing them with us.

Something missing?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit

CONSOLES

Selected Item:
View additional console entries if they exist ☝️

Builder: Wm. Johnson & Son
Position: Keydesk Attached
Design: Unknown
Pedalboard Type: Flat Radiating
Features:
2 Manuals 3 DivisionsMechanical (Unknown) Key ActionMechanical Stop Action

Stop Layout: Drawknobs in Horizontal Rows on Terraced/Stepped Jambs
Expression Type: Balanced Expression Shoes/Pedals (Details Unknown)
Combination Action: Unknown
Control System: Unknown or N/A

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit

DETAILS

Switch between notes, documents, audio, and blowers ☝️
This instrument is: Not Extant and Not Playable in this location

Jim Stettner on July 19th, 2025:

From the website: https://www.paintedhills.org/CATTARAUGUS/Portville_NY/PTVLPRESBCHURCH.htm, "In 1849 the original Presbyterian Church was started. It was finished in 1852 and dedicated on Thanksgiving Day of that year. It was not a big Church, just 54 feet by 36. It was unheated and very cold. In 1860 a parsonage was built adjacent to the church. Later on improvements were made inside, a furnace replaced the wood-burning stoves, new carpets were added. A pipe organ was installed in 1883 and stained glass windows were put in. In 1890 the church had over 100 parishoners and a finer parsonage had been built.

On June 26, 1895 disaster struck the church. Lightning hit the church spire and the church burned to the ground. Within a few months a new building had been erected on the same spot.


Database Manager on August 13th, 2015:

An original installation. Identified by John Igoe, using information found in Johnson Organs, 1844-1898: Wm. A Johnson, Johnson Organ Co., Johnson & Son: a documentary issued in honor the two hundredth anniversary of his birth, 1816-2016 by Scot L. Huntington, Len Levasseur, Barbara Owen, Stephen L. Pinel, and Martin R. Walsh. Cranbury, New Jersey: The Princeton Academy of the Arts, Culture, and Society, 2015.

Related Instrument Entries: Wm. Johnson & Son (Opus 836, 1896)

Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit

Pipe Organ Database

A project of the Organ Historical Society