Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit
We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.
Something missing or not quite correct?Add ImageorSuggest an Edit
Something missing?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit
Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit
This entry describes an original installation of a new pipe organ.
Identified by Timothy E. Conyers, using information found in Church history printed in 1950.
-- St. Andrew's is the oldest Catholic parish in the city, tracing its history back to 1836, with services held twice a year. By 1845 services were held every two or three months by a visiting priest from Shelby County, Indiana. The Church continued to grow numerically until August 1846, when the first resident priest was assigned to the city and eventually a lot was purchased. In 1860 the cornerstone was laid for the present building.
On August 15, 1899, the Feast of the Assumption, the church burned leaving only a shell. It was rebuilt using the original walls and a new tower which included new bells and a clock. The construction was completed in 1901. This is the building still in use today.
A new Lyon & Healy 3 manual pipe organ was installed in the rebuilt church. It was placed in the rear gallery of the building. This instrument served the parish for several decades until it was rebuilt by the Wicks Organ Co. in 1947.
Related Instrument Entries: Reynolds Associates, Inc. (2008) , Wicks Pipe Organ Co. (Opus 2579, 1946)
Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit