Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit
We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.
Something missing or not quite correct?Add ImageorSuggest an Edit
Something missing or not quite correct?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit
Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit
From page 95 “The Organ Historical Society, Inc. Organ Handbook 1983”. Published for the 28th Annual National Convention of the Society: The elegant brick church, internationally famous as one of the finest works of the Boston architect, Charles Bulfinch, was built in 1816, and declared a National Historic Landmark in 1971. It is still heated by wood stoves….
The first organ in the building was installed in 1841; research thus far failed to reveal who built it, or what became of it when it was replaced in 1869 by the present instrument, built by Wm. B.D. Simmons & Co. In 1884, Reuben G. Reed made minor mechanical changes and added a Pedal Bourdon 16’ in 1963, the Andover Organ Co. added one rank to the Mixture II, and added the Sesquialtera II ; at the same time they replaced the two strings in the Swell, a Keraulophon 8’ (TC) and Salicional 8” (TC), with the Flautino 2” and the Quint1 1/3; however, the basic character of the Simmons is unchanged.
Updated through online information from James R. Stettner.
Updated through online information from Barbara Owen.
Status Note: There 1983.
Altered Reuben G. Reed 1884; rebuilt Andover 1963, #40, 2-19.
Related Instrument Entries: Wm. B.D. Simmons (1869) , George Warren Reed (& Son) (1884)
Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit