Unknown Builder
1892(?)

Originally Unknown Builder (1810)

Katsbaan Reformed Church [later The Reformed Church of Saugerties]

Sanctuary; rear gallery

1800 Old Kings Hwy
Saugerties, NY, US

16 Ranks - 3 Physical Divisions
Instrument ID: 4589 ● Builder ID: 6193 ● Location ID: 41250
⬆️ These are database IDs that may change. Don't use as academic reference.EXPLORE IMAGESVIEW STOPLIST

Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit

Plenum Organ Company

🤝 Instrument entries in New York sponsored by:

We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.

IMAGES

Category:
Only show images in a specific category ☝️

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ImageorSuggest an Edit

STOPLISTS

Selected Item:
View additional stoplist entries if they exist ☝️

Something missing or not quite correct?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit

CONSOLES

Selected Item:
View additional console entries if they exist ☝️

Builder: Unknown
Position: Keydesk Attached
Design: Traditional Without Cover
Pedalboard Type: Flat Straight
Features:
3 Manuals (58 Notes)18 Note Pedal3 Divisions12 Stops12 RegistersMechanical (Unknown) Key ActionMechanical Stop Action

Stop Layout: Drawknobs in Vertical Rows on Flat Jambs
Expression Type: Trigger/Hitch-Down Expression
Combination Action: None
Control System: Unknown or N/A

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit

DETAILS

Switch between notes, documents, audio, and blowers ☝️
This instrument is: Extant and Playable in this location

Paul R. Marchesano on March 8th, 2024:

The Reformed Church of Saugerties has a long history in this area dating back originally to its first joint meeting with St. Paul's Lutheran Church in 1730. Back then the church was known as the Katsbaan Reformed Church. In 1826 it became part of the town of Saugerties and the name of the church was changed to The Reformed Church of Saugerties. The church moved into the Village in 1839. In 1852 the congregation moved to its new worship center at 173 Main Street which is our present location. -- Church history web page


Database Manager on February 4th, 2017:

Updated by Scot Huntington, who has heard or played the organ. Scot Huntington also listed this individual as a source of information: Stephen Pinel.
The original contract signed with Henry Erben in 1839 was for a one-manual organ. This was modified into a two-manual organ during construction by installing separate pallet boxes at each end of the 58-note windchest grid and installing a dividing wall in the note channels. The two rank Choir division uses the back section of the chest.
Assuming this is the organ owned by George Templeton Strong, it was a gift from the parents to their son who was then living at home. George bought his own home in Gramercy Park in the 1850s, and the organ was enlarged to three manuals with the addition of an enclosed Swell by Henry Erben at the time of the move.
Owing to the compact design of the organ intended for a residential parlor, the action and bass borrowings are technologically complicated for the period showing a degree of innovation and non-American organ construction ideas not typically encountered in American organs of the period.


Database Manager on October 30th, 2004:

Status Note: There 1992


Database Manager on October 30th, 2004:

From Marble Collegiate, NYC. Builder possibly Geib. Rebuilt by Erben ca.1820 as 3-14. To First Reformed, Saugerties ca. 1861. Here ca. 1880. Renovated by Rowland in 1925. Plus later alterations. Extensive repairs by Dana Hull and Charles Ruggles ca. 1992. Believed to be oldest 3m organ in U.S.

Related Instrument Entries: Henry Erben (1892) , Robert S. Rowland (1925)

Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit

Pipe Organ Database

A project of the Organ Historical Society