Thomas Hall
early 1820s

Vassar College

Thekla Hall, Skinner Hall

124 Raymond Avenue
Poughkeepsie, NY, US

5 Ranks - 234 Pipes
Instrument ID: 398 ● Builder ID: 2595 ● Location ID: 392
⬆️ These are database IDs that may change. Don't use as academic reference.EXPLORE IMAGESVIEW STOPLIST

Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit

Plenum Organ Company

🤝 Instrument entries in New York sponsored by:

We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.

IMAGES

Category:
Only show images in a specific category ☝️

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ImageorSuggest an Edit

STOPLISTS

Selected Item:
View additional stoplist entries if they exist ☝️
Click on a stop or division name for additional details if marked with 🛈.

May have been built for St James Episcopal church in 1818. Rebuilt by Hall & Labagh 1865. Installed by Louis F. Mohr into the Vassar "Museum of Musical Instruments" in 1932. Saved from being junked by John Hupcey (Vassar organ student), 1988. Restored by Susan Tattershall, 1994. Located in Thekla recital room within Skinner Hall of Music on the Vassar Campus. See articles in The Tracker 33:2 and The Diapason 6/1/1932
Originally Written/Published: 1995

Open In New Tab

Something missing or not quite correct?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit

CONSOLES

Selected Item:
View additional console entries if they exist ☝️

Builder: Thomas Hall
Position: Keydesk Attached
Design: Unknown
Pedalboard Type: No Pedalboard
Features:
1 Manuals (54 Notes)✗ No PedalMechanical (Unknown) Key Action

Stop Layout: Unknown
Expression Type: No Enclosed Divisions
Combination Action: Unknown
Control System: Unknown or N/A

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit

DETAILS

Switch between notes, documents, audio, and blowers ☝️
This instrument is: Extant and Playable in this location

Paul R. Marchesano on December 8th, 2025:

See DOCUMENTS tab for the 1995 dedication program.


Database Manager on October 30th, 2004:

Status Note: There 1995.


Database Manager on October 30th, 2004:

Loaned to Princeton Univ., Princeton, NJ c. 1870. In Governor's Island res. [of General Hancock.] Then to residence of Joseph Priaulx , son-in-law of Thomas Hall's partner, James. L. Kemp. Given to Vassar in 1932. Erected and enlarged by Louis F. Mohr. Restored 1995 by Susan Tattershall. [Earlier listed as c. 1850 Hall & Labaugh.]

Related Instrument Entries: Unknown Builder (1850ca.)

Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit

Pipe Organ Database

A project of the Organ Historical Society