Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit
We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.
Something missing?Add Image
Something missing?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit
Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit
Updated through online information from Scot Huntington. -- The organ was removed from Haydenville in February, 1874, and installed in Whately by men from the Johnson Organ Co., the altered organ being exhibited in April, 1874. For its installation in Whately, the upper part of the original case and speaking facade pipes were replaced with a pipe fence of zinc dummies, the case was redecorated, the interior was re-ordered to accommodate the 8' Open Diapason basses, and the Great Stop'd Diapason was replaced with a Melodia. An historic photo exists taken shortly after the installation in Whately.
In 1914, the Johnson was replaced by the Estey Organ Co., and Wm. A. Johnson Op. 16 was sold for $100 to the Unity Community Church of Heath, Mass. and installed there without alteration by George Ryder of Boston.
Identified from an entry in the OHS PC Database and confirmed through a Citation application received from the Johnson Organ Restoration Committee in December, 2008. The organ was moved from its original location in Haydenville and installed here by an unidentified person or firm in 1874. Some changes to the original instrument had been made prior to the move or as a part of its installation here. The organ was taken in trade by Estey in 1912 and subsequently installed in Heath, Massachusetts in 1914.
Related Instrument Entries: Wm. A. Johnson (Opus 16, 1850) , S. L. Huntington & Co. (2013) , Geo. H. Ryder (1914)
Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit