Frank E. Blashfield
1927

Originally Ernest M. Skinner Company (Opus 229, 1914)

First Congregational Church

106 North Main Street
Oberlin, OH, US

28 Ranks
Instrument ID: 22277 ● Builder ID: 659 ● Location ID: 20115
⬆️ These are database IDs that may change. Don't use as academic reference.EXPLORE IMAGESVIEW STOPLIST

Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit

Plenum Organ Company

🤝 Instrument entries in Ohio sponsored by:

We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.

IMAGES

Category:
Only show images in a specific category ☝️

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ImageorSuggest an Edit

STOPLISTS

Selected Item:
View additional stoplist entries if they exist ☝️

Something missing or not quite correct?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit

CONSOLES

Selected Item:
View additional console entries if they exist ☝️

Builder: Unknown
Position: Unknown
Design: Unknown
Pedalboard Type: Unknown
Features:
3 Manuals (61 Notes)32 Note Pedal24 Stops33 RegistersElectrical Key ActionElectrical Stop Action

Stop Layout: Unknown
Expression Type: Unknown
Combination Action: Unknown
Control System: Unknown or N/A

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit

DETAILS

Switch between notes, documents, audio, and blowers ☝️
This instrument is: Not Extant and Not Playable in this location

Scot Huntington on June 21st, 2021:

While the First and Second Congregational congregations merged in 1920, using the larger First Congregational building, the Skinner organ was not relocated to First Church until 1927, and slightly altered by Blashfield (of Utica, N.Y.) in the process. The Skinner was rebuilt by Homer Blanchard in 1962 and replaced by Hal Gober in 2004, reusing the Estey facade. The First Church Estey was moved to the Methodist Church of Oberlin where it replaced Lyon & Healy No. 216, 1907, a two-manual tracker. The Estey was ultimately replaced by John Brombaugh Op. 15 in 1974. Somewhere along the line, the Methodists built a new building, located adjacent to Oberlin College.


Scot Huntington on June 21st, 2021:

The neo-classic case shown in the post-1927 photo is the original Estey case of 1908, slightly redecorated, still extant and reused in the new Gober organ with a new display of facade pipes.


Database Manager on December 20th, 2014:

Updated through online information from William Dunklin. -- The organ was renovated in 1962 by Homer Blanchard. In 2004 it was replaced by a Gober organ, which utilized parts of the Skinner case and 7 ranks of Skinner pipes. The church's website refers to the Skinner organ as opus 230 from 1929. This may be an error.


Database Manager on December 21st, 2005:

Identified through information adapted from E. M. Skinner/Aeolian-Skinner Opus List, by Sand Lawn and Allen Kinzey (Organ Historical Society, 1997), and included here through the kind permission of Sand Lawn:
Originally built for Second Congregational Church, relocated here in 1927 when the congregations merged.

Webpage Links: Opus 229: First Congregational Church

Related Instrument Entries: Ernest M. Skinner Company (Opus 229, 1914) , Halbert Gober (2004) , H. D. Blanchard Pipe Organs (Opus 2OU, 1962)

Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit

Pipe Organ Database

A project of the Organ Historical Society