Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit
We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.
Something missing?Add Image
Something missing?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit
Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit
According to research conducted by University Organist Dr. Donald R.M. Patterson, Wm. King & Son electrified the Hook in 1899 with an experimental electric action. He further states the present facade which was reused by both Skinner and Aeolian-Skinner was by King, suggesting King also moved the Hook to the rear of the room. The King action must not have been successful as the organ was replaced by Skinner ca. 1910 retaining only the facade.
Updated through on-line information from Kip Said. -- This was the first pipe organ at the (then) 10-year old university. There was considerable debate about the builder with various proponents for Hook & Hastings, Johnson and Odell. Hook and Hastings contract signed August 3, 1875. Total cost of the instrument was $3,625.00 Organ delivered November 15, 1875. Installed in a chamber in the base of the tower with two facades. Once faced into the main chapel. Once faced into the small "South Chapel" (more of a transept, actually) First used in services December 5, 1875. The organ was used in its original condition until Sage Chapel underwent its first major expansion. Much of the Hook and Hastings pipework from this organ was used in the 1899 William King & Sons (Elmira New York) instrument.
According to E. M. Skinner / Aeolian-Skinner Opus List, rebuilt and enlarged in 1908 by Wm. King & Sons.
Identified from company publications as edited and expanded in The Hook Opus List 1829-1935, ed. William T. Van Pelt (Organ Historical Society, 1991).
Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit